Into The Storm

Sorry for the late entry!
Life happened as it always does, but I have my journal entry at least!

On my journey to self-publishing, I was faced with many options and even more questions. There was the choice of who to publish with, how to find an editor, and how to find a cover artist. Each of these was just the icing on the cake, though, as the cost of copyright and ISBNs and marketing popped up out of nowhere. It was frustrating and confusing for a new author like me to process this, let alone finance it, but hope was not far away.

I loaded up my old friend Google and did countless Facebook searches and was shocked to find a large number of resources out there for new authors. You’re not alone when you have access to so many writers’ blogs and support groups and I’m not shy about joining support groups. I recommend any new author or seasoned author seek out similar groups related to writing. Now this isn’t as easy as it sounds, you still have to test the waters.

I learned a lot about my book looking for support groups online. Firstly, find out what kind of book you’re trying to publish, is it a children’s book like mine or something for teens or adults. Is it fiction or non-fiction, these are important questions to ask when searching for the best group for your writing style. From there, find out what you’re looking for in a group and what you can offer. Are you already published and looking for a group focused on marketing? Are you looking for beta readers or peer editing groups? Or are you fresh to the writing world and looking for support on getting your idea onto paper. Whatever you’re looking for they’ll be a group out there for you, but you have to put in the work and do your research.

I’m no pro and I’m still feeling my way around, but Googling and searching on Facebook has helped me this far. So I would definitely recommend.

Leave a Reply

