Picky Reader

If you walk down the halls of any English department or sit in at any writer’s club you’ll hear lots of writers chatting away about their favorite books. With passion in their eyes, they’ll explain the plots and character development with such enthusiasm drawing you to open up the page. Within thirty minutes of conversation I could get a library of recommendations, but what comes naturally for some, does not come naturally for all.

I’m talking about having the passion for writing, but not for reading. This does sound a little weird and is more commonly found the other way around. I’m not sure why the passion of reading passed me over. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good book and would put away a manga in a heartbeat, however when it comes to reading novels I can’t start and finish them at the pace that others seem too.

Now it’s wrong to compare yourself to others, and if I were being honest I tend to be a little afraid of longer books. Maybe I have some kind of condition or maybe I’m just lazy, regardless even I can see the benefit of being a strong reader. I know once I find the right book I’ll power through it. I’m just not someone who can simply pick up a book and go, I need to put in the work and search for books that I like. So this year I would like to add reading to my hobby list. I want to be able to start and finish a book just like I would with a Netflix show. I’m not sure yet how this is going to work, but I know it’ll be worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

