The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Nano Eve is among us! It’s that time of year to start getting prepared for National Novel Writing Month, or commonly known by its followers as NaNoWriMo! What is NaNoWriMo? Well, it’s a month-long writing challenge that takes place every November with one very simple goal in mind, write a 50,000-word novel in a month. Yes, you read correct, 50,000 words in 30 days. If you’re thinking this is impossible, I completely understand. I thought so too, back in 2014, when I first participated in the challenge. Back then I was still in college juggling work, school, and other activities, but the more I researched and read, the more my mind began to accept the idea.

 

50,000 words in 30 days it’s a lot, but trying is the main point of Nano. There’s no fancy prize or entry fee, just the bragging rights of “Hey, I got my ideas onto paper” because the hardest part about being a writer is typing that first word. It’s a lot to commit to, whether you plan to publish or just writing for fun, it’s a personal battle. One that you often go through alone, that’s why I’m grateful for Nano because with Nano you don’t have to go it alone. The online community is amazingly supportive and welcoming. Throughout the year, they hold discussions and post seminars. During November they hold meetings in your local town, where you can meet other participates and network. It’s truly an amazing experience, at the cost of $0.00 USD!

 

Nano has also taught me many things about my own writing style and process. It proved to me that I can write a full-length novel, something I’ve only dreamed of doing as a short story writer. Nano also emphasizes the importance of trying. Every word you write is one word more than the last. That’s progress! Be proud of yourself, whether you write 100 words or complete the challenge. It’s all writing practice. It’s time spent developing characters, working on the plot, and developing the story. It’s a wonderful experience.

 

I really enjoy participating in Nano. They’ve helped me become a better writer and because of Nano, I’ll be publishing my first book in February.

 

I encourage everyone to sign up, even if you don’t finish. Give it a try, you never know you might surprise yourself.

 

Check out NaNoWriMo and join in on the fun!

9 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year”

Leave a Reply

