A Review: Clockwork by Philip Pullman

Clockwork review WP banner

Clockwork is an eerily enjoyable tale that follows a series of events in and around a small German town. The themes of clocks and time are what drive the story and the events that follow, with the warning that once a story is wound up, it can not be stopped.

From the first page, I was immediately drawn into the story. The author does a great job blurring the lines of the real and unreal. I still believe I lack the understanding to unwrap to story completely, even after re-reading this, but what I can say is that enjoyed this haunting tale. I loved the descriptive language, and even though this was meant for children, there is something unsettling about the happenings in the story. Little details that would be off-putting to adults and I like that. I like the feeling of knowing there is real danger in store for the characters, raising the stakes on the consequences to be told.

clockworkOverall I really enjoyed re-reading this. I would give it a 5/5. I liked the characters, the dialog, the storytelling, and pacing.

 

 

 

Next up on my reading list is: Wandering City Blues by Jonny Lupsha

wandering-city-blues

13 creatures emerged from the ocean, each over 1/4 mile tall. Then came a lethal fog that covered Earth’s surface. A small remnant of mankind built cities on the backs of those beasts and migrated up over the fog forever. 99 years later, Detective Leon Adler and his mysterious new partner Iris investigate a murder case that takes them halfway around the world to an extinction-level conspiracy. Can they survive the journey, chasing leads on massive skyscraper-perched birds and colonies of inbred cannibals, or will they succumb to the Wandering City Blues? (Summary is taken from Amazon)

 

***HALT: The section below contains spoilers***
***Read at your own risk***

Closing Thoughts and Discussion.

I think I need further clarification on the end. Dr. Kalmenius said to Prince Otto in order to save your son you must give a heart that must also be kept. It was my understanding that true love would save the child, yet Dr. Kalmenius took Prince Otto’s heart anyways. I understand Prince Otto’s impatient nature robbed him of further understanding on the matter, but does that mean Princess Mariposa never loved her son? Was Gretl the only one who truly loved Florian?

Something else I found humorous in the story was when Herr Ringelmann opened up Sir Ironsoul, he found nothing but rusted and mismatched parts. Could this be a reflection of Karl’s character? He was lazy, and thus the figure that slew him bore his trades. The figure was sloppy and not well put together, so truly this was the work of Karl. That’s funny to me.

ALSO and this is a biggy, how and who regulates these wishes? First Fritz wished for an ending, then Karl a figure and was Prince Otto and family even real or does the wish maker combine wishes?

 

Feel free to chime in, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

