A Review: Wandering City Blues by Jonny Lupsha

WCB WP banner

Wandering City Blues is an engaging murder mystery that literarily takes you around the world. The story follows Detective Leon and his new partner Iris, who has a very mysterious background, as they try and figure out the motive behind a series of grizzly murders. They go through hell and back in this science fiction novel about humans who live on the backs of giants.

I really enjoyed this story once I started to get into it. It was a little slow to start, but I’m glad I finished it. The story was very technical and jammed packed with lots of details, but luckily for me I had Google right by my side to help me look up anything I don’t know. My favorite parts of the story were the descriptions of all the titans and the people and cultures who lived there. It was very creative, as the author strived to make life on the back of mile high giants as real as possible. I believed it, and I really loved the cover art and pictures throughout the story too.

In short, I’m glad I stuck it out and finished the novel. The author had a really cool idea, with a dynamic story, so I give it a 3/5.

 

the-unlikely-tale-of-the-royal-elite-squadNext on my reading list is The Unlikely Tale of the Royal Elite Squad by D.A. Alston

Summary from Amazon:
The Unlikely Tale of the Royal Elite Squad follows four young girls as they embark on an exciting new journey after an accident occurs at their school.

 

 

 

***HALT: The section below contains spoilers***
***Read at your own risk***

 

Closing Thoughts and Discussion

I can’t say how much I really loved the ending. It was a roller coaster of a ride reading this and I mean that in a good way. I’m happy Iris found her peace. I’m also dying to learn more about the other titans as they only talked about a few and I really want to see pictures of them too.

I found Sao to be the most amusing, for the life of me I couldn’t imagine a giant beast trotting around Earth blasting angry Jamaican music. My favorite titan though was Psamanthe, she was sweet and kind, and she proved Detective Leon wrong, that titans do care. And the children on the ground, I would love to read a story about them. That was the most magical part seeing them wave to Leon and Iris as they ascended.

With the knowledge of the children what are your thoughts? Do you think more humans survived elsewhere?

Leave a Reply

